Your ad here?


  1. Piccolo, flute
  2. Oboe, English horn
  3. E-flat clarinet, clarinet
  4. Flute, clarinet, bass clarinet, soprano saxophone


  1. Tom Kmiecik says:

    The doublings listed above are now called “Version 1” by MTI; these follow the original Broadway books. There is a “Version 2” (using the books from the West End) also available for rental from MTI that omits the Reed 4 book and leaves the other three books as is in terms of doubling. The material from Reed 4 is either omitted or rescored elsewhere.

    Additionally, MTI now offers a shortened/transposed “School Edition” that has the original 4 books, but removes the flute and soprano saxophone parts from the Reed 4 book. Lots of Ragtime options!

  2. Tony Moran says:

    There is a new orchestration of Ragtime called the “9-Piece version” which, as of last year, has started being licensed by MTI instead the old “version 2”. It contains one reed book: Flute, Piccolo, Clarinet, Soprano Saxophone.

Leave a comment

You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Comments requesting or offering to share copyright-protected material will be deleted.